Talkie AI $9.99/mo · first year only, then $95.99

2.4

Full review

Claim −58% discount

Replika $7.99/mo · lowest of two monthly SKUs, tier unstated

4.0

Full review

Claim −48% discount

Head to head Updated 8 min read

Talkie AI vs Replika in 2026, A Catalogue or One Companion?

Talkie is a free voice-first catalogue with a 14 age floor. Replika is one paid companion with the strictest rules and no published price.

Final score
2.4 Talkie AI Final score
4.0 Replika Final score
Replika
User rating 1 vs 0 reviews
2.0 Talkie AI User rating
— Replika User rating
—
Our editorial rating Set by us, from published facts and user reports
3.9 Talkie AI Our editorial rating
4.0 Replika Our editorial rating
Replika
Overall

Replika leads on 2 of the 3 measures we hold.

Replika
If you only read one section
Pick Talkie AI if…

The pick if you want breadth and voice for nothing, and you can accept that nothing enforces any of its three different age floors.

Pick Replika if…

The pick if you want one companion and real accountability, accepting that its price appears only inside the app or the store.

What you actually pay

Sticker price, the cheapest term each one sells, and whether there is a free tier, all read off the products' own plan screens.

Talkie AI and Replika pricing compared
MeasureTalkie AIReplika
Monthly price$9.99/mo$7.99/mo
Price notefirst year only, then $95.99lowest of two monthly SKUs, tier unstated
Cheapest termannual, −58% ($4.17/mo)annual, −48% ($4.17/mo)
Free tierYesYes
Verified codeNoneNone

Prices are the monthly-billing rate in each product's own currency. "Cheapest term" is computed from the plan ladder on its discount page, never typed in.

The comparison between Talkie AI and Replika rests on a structural difference. Talkie: Soulful AI is a free, ad-funded catalogue of user-made characters. It is a community and voice chat platform with hundreds of thousands of user- and official-created personas, voice conversations in 95 languages, and a Mini-Theater structured roleplay mode. Replika is the opposite: one continuous companion the user builds and pays for through a subscription. It remembers personal details like name, job, family, preferences, and dates, then brings them up in later conversations.

The two apps share two notable caveats. Both prohibit sexual content. Neither publishes its price before install. Talkie’s own site lists no pricing, and Replika’s Terms state that costs appear only on in-app subscription screens and the relevant app store. That means the decision between a sprawling catalogue and a single evolving companion has to be made before either app reveals what it will actually cost.

Talkie AI Price: What the Free Tier Covers and Apple’s Public Tiers

A free download does not mean unlimited use. The app runs on an energy system that throttles heavy use, and users who want the full range of features have to look at a paid tier.

The free tier caps use in three ways:

  • 50 messages per day
  • Voice calls limited to 2 minutes
  • Up to 3 custom characters

Building a character is the core of the Talkie experience, and three slots goes quickly for anyone who wants a few distinct personas to rotate through. The daily message cap also means the catalogue is something to sample, not binge.

The Talkie AI price gets murky once someone looks for numbers. The app’s own website lists no pricing at all, so the only public numbers come from Apple’s app store listings. Those show two paid tiers:

  • Talkie Lab at $9.99/month
  • Talkie+ Pro at $24.99/month or $49.99/year

What those tiers actually buy is another question. Apple’s listing does not state which features each paid tier unlocks, so the value behind each price remains unpublished. A reader comparing the two would be hard-pressed to say what the extra $15 a month gets them, because the store page does not say.

On top of the subscriptions, Talkie also sells gem bundles priced from $1.99 to $19.99. Those are separate from the monthly and yearly tiers, a second currency that runs alongside the subscription model. The full picture of how gems work gets its own space later. For now, the takeaway is that the subscription is not the only thing Talkie wants users to spend on.

Replika Price: Free Version vs Pro and the Numbers Apple Publishes

Replika’s price follows a similar pattern. The company’s own site shows nothing. The Terms state that costs appear only on in-app subscription screens and the relevant app store, so the only public numbers come from Apple’s listings. Those show:

A man and a synthetic woman standing close together in a high-rise apartment at dusk, city lights behind the window

  • $7.99 and $14.99 per month
  • $49.99 and $69.99 per year
  • A Platinum option at $89.99

Apple does not state what each price buys. A reader scrolling the store page cannot tell what the $14.99 per month tier includes that the $7.99 one does not. The same gap applies to the yearly options and the Platinum tier, which sits well above the others without any published explanation of what it adds.

The free version is heavily restricted. One of the most important relationship modes is locked behind the paid tier. The “partner” relationship mode requires a Pro subscription to unlock, so the core of Replika’s pitch as a companion app is not available to anyone who stays on the free plan. The price itself only becomes visible after installing and opening the app, so the decision about whether the subscription is worth it has to be made from inside the experience rather than before it.

The Second Currency: Gem Bundles and the Claw Machine

Both apps run a second currency alongside their subscriptions, and neither one explains what that currency is actually worth. Talkie’s gem economy and Replika’s Gems exist as separate in-app purchases, priced independently of the monthly and yearly tiers, with no published breakdown of how many gems any given action costs or what a bundle genuinely delivers.

  • Apple flags Talkie’s claw machine with a Loot Boxes advisory, marking it as a randomized purchase rather than a straightforward transaction.
  • Replika sells Gems from $0.99 to $19.99 in bundles alongside its subscription tiers.
  • Both apps carry a second layer of in-app purchases beyond their monthly and yearly plans, so the subscription price is never the full picture of what a user might spend.
  • Neither app’s store listing explains how many gems an action costs or what value a bundle actually provides, leaving the exchange rate between real money and in-app currency entirely unpublished.

A reader can see that Talkie sells gem bundles from $1.99 to $19.99 and Replika from $0.99 to $19.99, yet neither store page states what those gems buy, how many a feature consumes, or whether larger bundles offer any meaningful saving. The second currency works the same way in both apps.

Age Requirements: Talkie Says 14+, Replika Says 18+

Talkie AI and Replika take very different positions on age, and neither app does much to enforce its own rule. The Talkie AI age requirement sits at 14+, while Replika’s age rating is 18+ under Apple’s classification. The two policies compare like this:

AttributeTalkie AIReplika
Minimum age required by terms14+ (the US and UK appear on none of its higher age lists)Under-18s are unauthorised. Apple rates the app 18+
Enforcement methodReactiveSelf-declared with no verification
Age gateNone on any logged-out pageNone. A minor can sign up without proving age

Talkie sets a lower floor and does little to police it, relying on reports rather than proactive checks. Replika sets a higher floor but leans entirely on the user’s own word, since nothing in the sign-up process asks for proof of age. Both apps effectively operate on trust, just from different starting points.

Replika’s GDPR Fine and the Age Verification Failure

Italy’s data regulator fined Luka, Inc., the maker of Replika, five million euros on 10 April 2025. The Garante adopted provvedimento n. 232 and specified the grounds. There was no valid legal basis for processing under GDPR Article 6. The privacy notice was inadequate, and there was no effective age verification.

A woman in a cinema seat holding popcorn, a translucent gold synthetic man leaning in from the next seat

Luka filed an opposition proceeding, so the fine is under appeal and not final.

The fine also has a hard geographic limit. GDPR protects only EU users, so the penalty covers Europe and nothing beyond it. Users elsewhere fall outside the regulation’s reach entirely.

Content Rules and Impersonation: What Each App Bans

Different histories sit behind the shared ban on sexual content. Replika removed explicit roleplay overnight in February 2023 after a regulator order, then partially restored it only for legacy accounts created before February 1, 2023. Newer accounts never got the option back. That means Replika’s relationship to explicit content now depends on when a user signed up rather than what they want from the service.

The impersonation rules differ just as sharply. Replika’s Terms ban configuring a companion to impersonate a specific real person, including a former partner. That clause reads as a direct response to the app’s positioning as a companion service where users might try to recreate someone they actually know.

Talkie’s guidelines say nothing about real people or likenesses at all. Its terms only bar impersonating “any person or entity,” a general clause that covers legal identities but never touches the specific case of modeling a character on someone real. The two apps come at the same problem from opposite directions. Replika names the exact scenario it wants to prevent, while Talkie leaves it unaddressed in favor of a broad legal catch-all.

Talkie’s PG-13 policy was tightened in 2025 and 2026. The current rules allow suggestive content but block explicit scenes, and accounts that violate the standard can be banned. They hold the line against explicit material while permitting some degree of flirtation or innuendo, but the enforcement language differs. Replika’s history is defined by a regulator-driven reversal, while Talkie’s policy reads as a self-imposed standard that has gotten stricter over time.

Money and Data Terms: Refunds, Renewals, and Chat Data

Refund policies, renewal rules, and chat data handling show two different approaches.

Talkie AIReplika
Money termsFees are non-refundable to the fullest extent permitted. Billing runs “automatically until canceled,” and fees “may increase at any time.” Disputes go to Singapore courts.Apple purchases are final with no refund. Renewal is “automatically until canceled.” EU residents keep a 14-day withdrawal right. Claims proceed individually under a California class waiver.
Data termsThe data policy says chats train the service. The app states it is “operated from the United States of America,” with no mention of China anywhere in the policy.Replika promises to “never share your conversations.” It trains only safety algorithms on message excerpts and keeps conversation data 60 days after deletion.

The contrast in refund practice is stark. Talkie’s non-refundable fees and Singapore forum put the user in a weaker position, while Replika at least carves out a 14-day withdrawal window for EU residents, even if Apple purchases are otherwise final. On data, the two apps take opposite approaches. Talkie feeds chats into training the service itself, while Replika trains only internal safety algorithms and deletes conversation data after 60 days.

Choosing by Fit, Not a Winner

As of August 2026, Replika sits at 4.4 stars from 228,000 US ratings, while Talkie Lab holds 4.73 stars from 54,350. The numbers look like a clear win for Talkie, but the volume gap matters. Replika’s score comes from more than four times as many ratings, so its 4.4 reflects a much wider base of experience. Talkie’s higher average rests on a smaller crowd, many of whom may have been drawn by the free catalogue rather than a paid commitment.

The right choice comes down to what a user actually wants from the app:

  • Talkie fits readers who want a free, ad-funded shelf of user-made characters and are comfortable with gem bundles and a loot-box-flagged claw machine sitting alongside the subscription tiers.
  • Replika fits readers who want one continuous companion that remembers details, accepting a subscription price revealed only after install.

HushVerified’s comparison relies on each app’s own documents and Apple’s public listings, not marketing pages. The trade-offs above are the verified starting point. Neither app publishes what its own site sells, and neither explains what its paid tiers unlock. The numbers here are the only public record.

Which app to pick is a question of fit, not quality. A user who wants variety without a monthly commitment has a clear path in Talkie. A user who wants a single companion that remembers their life has only one real option, and the price for that option only becomes visible after the app is installed.

Both sides in full

This page is the comparison. The reviews are where the scores come from: pricing, policies, what users report, and the reasoning behind each rating.

Read the full Talkie AI review Read the full Replika review

More matchups

All comparisons